Thursday Review: The Soul Screamers Series by Rachel Vincent


So I promise I will review individual books again, but I just read the last book in this series and it was SO good. Rachel Vincent also writes modern twists on mythology/urban fantasy, but she went in a completely original direction.

Kayleigh is a Banshee. When people die, she screams for their souls. She has no idea what she is when the series starts so when she starts screaming, she’s institutionalized. Then she meets Nash, a male version on a Banshee who has a brother that’s a reaper, an ex that’s a nightmare (literally) and they all discover their high school is on a hell mouth. Okay, not exactly, but the demons concentrating around the high school make me think of Buffy in a good way.

This is a fantastic series, and the characters are so well developed. They grow so much and so realistically throughout he series. It’s absolutely a worthwhile read, and I promise, the last book does not disappoint. You can buy books 1-2 plus a prequel short story in a single kindle edition, books 3 and 4 plus an amazingly heart wrenching short story in a single kindle edition, 5 and 6 plus a short story in a single edition and seven alone. Go shopping, seriously, it’s worth it.

Here’s the blurb for the first 3.

It starts with a scream….
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent’s compelling Soul Screamers series keeps getting better—here, for the first time, the original stories are compiled into one special volume….

My Soul to Lose

—The prequel: never before in print!—

Kaylee is just your average girl shopping at the mall with friends—until a terrified scream bursts from her that cannot be stopped. Taken to a hospital ward, will she be able to save her mind—and her life?

My Soul to Take

She doesn’t see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next.

My Soul to Save

Going on dates with her boyfriend is still new to Kaylee. But when the singer of the band they’re seeing dies onstage and Kaylee doesn’t scream, she knows something crazy is going on. Soon she discovers souls can indeed be sold….

6 thoughts on “Thursday Review: The Soul Screamers Series by Rachel Vincent

  1. Pingback: Paranormal Reading Challenge | Kaitlin Bevis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s